The Triangle Club has offered continuous service at it’s historic location for over 70 years. In 1947, Joe Thomas, Sr. purchased the club from Wilbur Burford and Emmett Botelho. Following in his father’s footsteps, Joe Thomas, Jr. continued to perpetuate the Triangle’s tradition of offering a warm friendly haven for sports enthusiasts and a refuge from the Taku winds. This excellent tradition continues today under the guidance of Joe Jr.’s daughter Leeann Thomas. The Triangle Club still offers the same hospitality today as it did two generations ago, making it one of the truly unique establishments in downtown Juneau.
The club’s diverse clientele has included everybody from governors to carpetbaggers, making it an inviting “watering hole” to exchange tall tales and solve the world’s problems. Equally entertaining from the club’s vantage point is the “people traffic” on Front and Franklin Streets, arguably one of the best places in town to enjoy a drink and a good view.
Located in the oldest part of Juneau, the actual site of the club was seaward of the original shoreline and like other structures of the 1880’s is built on pilings. To commemorate the historic nature of this location and the Juneau area, the Triangle Club has a collection of over 50 historic photographs inside accompanied with a brochure explaining the details of each.
So please, stop by the Triangle Club today to learn about Juneau’s past and catch up on its future!